What I’m Working On… (Week of Oct 7, 13)

photo(2)We started off last weekend with a lovely trip to a nearby town for their Apple Days parade and vendor fair. It was a bit chilly in the morning and warmed up nicely as the day went on. We had such a nice time watching the parade and checking out all the crafts and yummy foods! Sadly, we found no apple pie, but we did find funnel cake and Philly cheese steaks… can’t go wrong there! We got to see so many kids participate in the pre-parade and Bug was quite sad she couldn’t join them, but quickly began waving and shouting as they passed us.photo(5) photo(6) photo(4) photo(3)We really had a fantastic time and hope to go again next year, but for now, we’ll focus on the upcoming Christmas parades! 🙂

——

I’ve begun working on my Mini Quilt for the Schnitzel and Boo Mini Quilt Swap and I’m quite excited to show you! I found the pattern in Fat QuarterlyIssue 13. Paper piecing isn’t my forte, by any means, but this one went to together with relatively few issues. I did have to rip a few seams and start over, but I did finish it! I started with one block…photo (5)

And kept going, adding more and more. I used mostly Architextures by Carolyn Friedlander, and in person, this stuff is beautiful!

photo(7) I mostly used black, white, gray and some navy blue, and I’m LOVING the way this is coming about. Jake asked me to make another for us here at home, but i just can’t commit to that right now. 😉 I’d love to eventually though.  I even started quilting tonight. This mini quilt is cruising right along, but thankfully I have til the first week of November to get it done!

photo(8)—–

Last thing for now – I got the MOTHERLOAD of mail today, and it was such happy mail! I know other quilters/sewists (sewers?) would agree! photo(1)How’s 16 yards of 2 fabrics, 11 fat quarters and various hardware sound to you?! The orange, (5 yards) is to finish up the top of a quilt I have in the works for Jake. It’s Timeless Treasures Sketch in Nectar. The black birds are Flight in Black (Waterfront Park by Violet Craft), and the purple (in the back), is Domino Dot in Jewel (Waterfront Park by Violet Craft). Those were all ordered from Hawthorne Threads. I really, really, love this online shop. They have an option to search for fabric by color, and it is pretty much amazing!

The fat quarters are also Waterfront Park by Violet Craft but I ordered these from Modern Quilter on Etsy. What a great find, and the owner posts accurate pictures of the fabrics so I can ensure I got the right colors!  These, as well as the Domino Dot, will be for a quilt for Tater Tot and I’m hoping to get both done before Christmas. WISH ME LUCK!

Anyway, enough from me, hope to have a productive week, and I would love to hear about what your plans are for the week!

     |Sandra

12 thoughts on “What I’m Working On… (Week of Oct 7, 13)

Leave a Reply

