Mystery Baby, Mystery Quilt

Several months ago, a good friend Amanda contacted me to do a baby quilt. Her sister was pregnant! Hooray! Cue excitement.

Then I was told, “well here’s the thing, they don’t want to know the gender…” and I might have started to panic a wee bit. Luckily, she had convinced her sister to still find out the gender at the 20 week ultrasound, but not see it herself. She had the tech put it into an envelope and off to the mailbox it went. A few days later, it showed up in my mailbox. I was so so so excited!

I had to keep this secret from the whole world, especially Amanda and her family. I couldn’t post anything about it. I couldn’t show pictures. I couldn’t ask anyone’s opinion. Amanda did help me narrow down some pattern ideas and sample color schemes for either gender, so that helped a ton, but it was still a very hard secret to keep.

DSC_0016

Hunter P was born a little over a week ago, and is the most adorable little guy ever! I’m so smitten and I’m sure her family is over the moon!

Anyways, here are the quilts I made. This one is car seat blanket sized so smaller than average but great for when Hunter is in the carseat! Aren’t the elephants great? It’s an Organic Cotton fabric and it was heavenly to work with.

Plaid Baby Quilt

Plaid Baby Quilt

And then there’s this one, which is definitely larger and more for home use or the crib when he’s older.

 Commissioned baby quilt

Commissioned baby quilt

Here’s to a healthy, happy little Hunter P, and his amazing parents, Cassi and Martal! Best wishes to you all! Thank you for allowing me to create this for you, and it truly was something I will always treasure!

—-Sandy

One thought on “Mystery Baby, Mystery Quilt

Leave a Reply

