Baby Quilt for Allison

My daughter goes to preschool for the last year. In the fall she will start Kindergarten and my other daughter will begin preschool. It’s going to be a little scary having no kids in my house for a few hours a day, three days a week. I’m sure I’ll adjust, as will they, but initially, I’m pretty sure I’ll be lost and lonely! Come August, please check in on me from time to time. 🙂

Anyway, one of the teacher’s assistants is pregnant and due this summer with a little girl. I finally caught up on all my custom orders so I was able to make her a quilt for her upcoming bundle of joy. I browsed through my pathetic fabric stash and came up with a color scheme of pink, coral, and orange. I was able to cut out plenty of 4″ squares for this without having to go out and buy more fabric! That’s the best part! Although I did whipe out my white solids…

Baby Quilt for Allison

I wanted to create something simple, bold, and timeless. I didn’t want “baby” fabrics or cutesy designs. I wanted it to be something the baby could grow with, considering my 5 year old and 2 year old still carry and sleep with their baby blankets. So I found the Concerto pattern (Aria Lane Patterns) from Pilo O’ Fabric, and modified it a bit.

I cut my blocks 4″ as opposed to the pattern suggested 4.5″ and then I actually added more color blocks to the layout rather than so much white.

Baby Quilt for Allison

I pieced this quilt in less than two hours, quilted in three hours, and then bound in under an hour. That makes six hours max, start to finish, and while this was done over 5 days, that’s the fastest quilt I’ve ever completed!

Baby Quilt for Allison

I did a double paisley quilting design on the quilt. It’s kind of my go-to when I need somethind done quickly, with plenty of crinkle. I love how it turned out!

Baby Quilt for Allison

Here’s the full quilt!

Baby Quilt for Allison

Quilt Stats:
Final Size | 42″ x 52″
Fabrics Used | Various pink, coral and oranges, Bella Solids in White, Denyse Schmidt Ansonia Fine Stripe in Magenta for the binding, Ikea Britten Nummer for the back.
Thread | Aurifil 50 wt. in White 2024
Batting | Warm and Natural 100% Cotton

6 thoughts on “Baby Quilt for Allison

Leave a Reply

