[It’s time for] Blogger’s Quilt Festival!

AmysCreativeSide.com

This year, after much thought, I’ve decided to enter again. I considered what I had around here that I wanted to enter and finally decided on the Rainbow Mini I completed about two months ago.

Rainbow Mini Quilt

This was completed for the Handmade Birthday Club on Flickr, and it was an intense challenge for me. I had no pattern. I was stumped for weeks on what I should make. I finally just sat down with a fat eighth bundle of Anna Maria Horner True Colors and started chopping it up. Each square is 1.5″ prior to sewing, so they finish at 1″. The entire mini quilt was 18″ square.

Rainbow Mini Quilt

Rainbow Mini Quilt

Rainbow Mini Quilt

My partner loves rainbows and rainbow colors so I guess I took that very literally, but I loved the end product. It took me a while to cut and piece everything, and I drew out my plan on graph paper, but I’m so glad I took my time. Once I felt like I had enough colored squares together, I chopped it up. In fact, I cut a huge curve into it. Both top and bottom. Then I cut opposing curves out of white fabric. I very carefully sewed the curves together to create the actual mini quilt top.

Rainbow Mini Quilt

After that, I pondered how to quilt it. I didn’t want to distract from the rainbow itself a whole lot and definitely wanted it be the focal point. So I decided on matchstick quilting for the negative space, which echoed the curve of the rainbow. This quilting was 1/8″ apart at most. I added in a few loopy clouds to create some interest.

Rainbow Mini Quilt

Rainbow Mini Quilt

Once that was completed, I had to do some quilting over the rainbow, since it became very “puffy” from the bordering dense quilting. I chose to do paisley free motion quilting to help create energy and motion over the rainbow. I used coordinating threads (and I have to admit, this is definitely the highest number of different threads in one project I’ve ever done) but I don’t regret that decision one bit.

Rainbow Mini Quilt

As you can tell, the paisley quilting is not very visible from the front but definitely adds texture, however, it’s really quite noticeable on the backside.

Rainbow Mini Quilt

So there’s my entry! Thanks for checking out my mini quilt and stopping by my blog.

32 thoughts on “[It’s time for] Blogger’s Quilt Festival!

  1. rachaeldaisy says:

    This is so geourgess!! I love how youve created a cloud in your quilting. Your rainbow is beautifully pieced!

  2. Shay Kinnaird says:

    Two of my favourite things – bargello and rainbows. This mini sucked me in from my first look at your thumbnail. And the quilting is just incredible!

    Good luck with the voting- you;re already a winner in my book!

  3. Sharon says:

    Beautiful quilt, and so clever! Your quilting is impressive too. I really like the clouds you added – it reinforces the rainbow theme, and it breaks up some of the dense quilting. Good job!

  4. sewnbyleanne says:

    I love this Quilt, One of my favourites. I have featured it on my blog – I hope you don’t mind. Come and take a look. Ive just started blogging, but love to highlight the quilts that I love ! The FMQ is so well done to create the textured rainbow effect.!

Leave a Reply

