RJR Fabrics “What Shade Are You?” Blog Hop

RJR blog hop 300x250

Several weeks ago, I was contacted to create something using RJR Fabrics Cotton Supreme Solids in colors that coordinated perfectly with the Cotton + Steel Mustang Collection. I was informed that it would be utilized for the What Shade Are You blog hop that’s on RJR Fabrics’ Facebook page.

I immediately sat down and started planning. I had to wait on fabrics to arrive so I couldn’t quite get everything planned out right away, but did get a good mock-up done.  I had already had a Fat Quarter bundle of Mustang here so I knew what I was working with and the colors that were involved.

photo 2 (1)

A few days later, I received the coordinating solids and some of the basics as well! I have to say, these Cotton Supreme Solids are so nice to work with. They’re thick, but not too thick, drape well and they don’t fray a whole lot either! Plus, the colors are dreamy!

photo 1 (1)

After coordinating with my Mustang bundle, I eliminated a few of the colors and chose to stick with the aquas and purples and pinks. I didn’t use green or yellow since there isn’t much in the Mustang bundle. I immediately got to cutting.

photo 3 (1)

And then there were about 190 hexagons. I wanted to be able to english paper piece these but I just didn’t have time. I’ve also machine pieced hexagons before so I knew how to do it quickly. I marked all six sides of my hexagons with the 1/4″ seam allowance and got started! It took me about three days to get the quilt top completely pieced, and that was working for a few hours each night after my munchkins went to bed.

photo 4 (1)

After the top was pieced, I had to go to Fancy Tiger Crafts up in Denver for backing and binding, because I wanted to see the fabrics in person to be able to decide what would work best, and really, I just didn’t have time to have something shipped. I ended up picking up some older Melody Miller Ruby Star linen blend.  I have to say, Fancy Tiger, is my favorite quilt store! It’s beautiful! My only wish is that it wasn’t so far away. 😉

It took me an additional day or two to get the quilt basted and a quilting design figured out. I had decided kinda last minute to try out some gold thread to accentuate the gold that was already in the front and back of the quilt. It was my first time working with metallic thread while free motion quilting. I asked around and the majority of people suggested Superior Threads. So, I picked up some from my local quilt shop and got started! I loved the way the gold thread handled, but I also used a coordinating purple Superior Threads color and a coordinating Aurifil color too (details below).

So, enough rambling, here’s the final quilt!

MustangQuilt_Direct

MustangQuilt_Full

MustangQuilt_Back

MustangQuilt_GoldDetail

MustangQuilt_Detail

MustangQuilt_BackDetail

Quilt Stats:
Final Size | 33″ x 48″
Fabrics Used | RJR Fabrics Cotton Supreme Solids in colors Hot Pink #217, Chili Pepper #49, Pink Orchid #331, Haviland Blue #169, Emerald City #329, and Shamrock #109, Mustang Collection by Cotton + Steel
Thread | Aurifil 50 wt. in 2024 for piecing, Aurifil 40 wt. in 2912 for quilting, Superior Threads Metalllics in #002 Light Gold, Superior Threads Masterpiece in #114 Sweet Pea.
Batting | Warm and Natural 100% Cotton

32 thoughts on “RJR Fabrics “What Shade Are You?” Blog Hop

  1. Tiffany says:

    Wow, I didn’t realize you were machine piecing those hexies. No wonder you were so fast! I LOVE the layout and now I really want to try something with hexies myself!

  2. Robin says:

    Love it! I need to learn how to machine piece hexagons! I’m in the middle of a hexie quilt using the GO! Baby hexie die – it cuts half hexagons, but this seems better… Great job!

  3. Kris Grant says:

    Beautiful front and back!! If I had to pick one shade it would be blue!! It makes me happy, calm, creative, and joyful.

  4. Kathleen Dalecio says:

    What a beautiful quilt! I love how vibrant it is. Your design works so well that it makes all the starting & stopping of sewing Hexies together seem worthwhile! Congratulations! Thank you, too, for the giveaway opportunity.

  5. Jessica says:

    Wow, you are so amazing! I love the colors so much and the detail in the quilting is wonderful. I haven’t been to Fancy Tiger yet but I am going to visit when I go up to Denver in a few weeks. Like I need more fabric. HA!

  6. Janet says:

    Love solids! Really need to add more to my stash. The quilt front and back is beautiful. Thanks for the chance to win!

  7. MaryMargaret says:

    This quilt is absolutely beautiful! I have never machine pieced hexagons before, but have now added that to my (near-infinite) list. Thank you for such gorgeous inspiration!

Leave a Reply

