A little EPP…

I have tried English paper piecing in the past and haven’t gotten far. It’s too tedious for me I think. However, I recently gave it another shot. I downloaded the Wafers pattern from Nellie’s Niceties on Etsy (and for just over a buck, you can’t go wrong!) and immediately cut out fabrics for pieces. I stuck with Anna Maria Horner and then added some indigo chambray for the other shaped pieces.

IMG_2673.JPG

It took me about four hours total to get all my pieces assembled so that I could start piecing the top. I had a pillow cover in mind, and needed to hurry since it’s for the handmade birthday club I’m part of. And her birthday is very very quickly approaching. 😳

IMG_2695.JPG

After one night, that’s all the progress I made. I think I’m the slowest person I know at hand sewing. My hands end up cramping, my thimble was waging a war, and I quit for the night. The next morning, I came back at it with a better attitude and a fresh spirit. And lots of coffee.

IMG_2699.JPG

Day two- and still not finished. I’m sure I was being completely unreasonable in my time expectations for this project considering my lack of EPP experience. Like I said, I don’t have any a lot of patience.

But I stuck with it… And very slowly it came together. Just today I finally finished the pillow top. Now I need to baste it, quilt it, trim it up and add a zippered backing for the pillow cover. ☺️

IMG_2757.JPG

4 thoughts on “A little EPP…

  1. BARBARA says:

    I love the random placements of the pieces & know that your gift will make your honoree so very pleased & excited. Now, you can say, “Yes, I’ve EPP experience & have done very well with it!” I am now encouraged to give it a try–do you know if you can buy the paper pieces already cut out?

    • SmallTownThread says:

      I think for this particular pattern, no, there are no precut pieces. She does include the pattern pieces and I cut 8 sheets of the kite shapes and about four sheets of the shield shape for this pillow cover.

  2. Hayley says:

    It looks lovely and yes, I think you are being unrealistic with your time expectations! Or perhaps I am super slow. I like to do mine while watching tv but it does take a while. Anyway, each time you do it will be faster πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

