Christmas Quilting

There is nothing like quickly-approaching holidays to light a fire under ya, am I right? I really feel like the holidays snuck up on me this year, and I’m not sure why, but I do know, I’m excellent under pressure! 😉

I managed to complete not one, but two quilts for my major Christmas gifts this year. GO ME! That hasn’t happened, in oh, forever. I even managed to do them in just the month of December (which meant many late nights, and very little sleep) but it was oh so worth it!

Here’s quilt number one:

DSC_1470 copy

I used Alison Glass’ new Handcrafted batik style fabrics for this. Normally, I can’t stand batik. It screams tropical and old-lady to me. But, these colors are so brilliant and beautiful and the pattern on them is very modern and totally my style! I threw in a few solids from my stash to round it out. I will admit, this was my first ever quilt that you’d call Improv (improvisational) and it was definitely hard for me. I’m more of a pattern-follower and like things to be symmetrical and neat, but this was an awesome challenge for me and I would love to do it again in the future!

The finished size on this one was 56″ x 60″ and for the backing, I used some IKEA fabric that I had from my mother-in-law that the three grandkids colored. It’s really truly a keepsake for her!

Here’s a detail shot showing some of the quilting, and this part alone, took me 14+ hours. I’m not complaining! I totally love the effect!

DSC_1460
(Can we agree that the old truck is the perfect shade of yellow?! Seriously!)

Next up is the second quilt I completed. I used the X & + Pattern from Zen Chic/Brigitte Heitland. LOVE IT! I also pulled out some of my Doe fabric from Carolyn Friedlander. It’s releasing soon and I got my bundle from when I went to Quilt Market. No regrets here! I was sort of iffy on the colors initially but once it came together as a quilt, I was smitten! Can you see why?!

DSC_1463

DSC_1467
Detail of the quilting above, but seriously, I was soooo stumped on how to quilt this without following the lines of the quilt itself. And while I did still do that partially, I added in a lot of free-motion quilting and made it my own. It’s a beautiful quilt in person! The recipient just LOVED it!

This quilt finished at 60″ x 60″. Warm and Natural batting, as always, and then Doe by Carolyn Friedlander and Yarn-Dyed Essex Linen in Chambray for the front. The backing is a mix of a light blue crosshatch and 8 Kona solids.

Happy Holidays to all of you! I hope you’re not burning the midnight oil too much. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Christmas Quilting

  1. hayley says:

    Both of these are beautiful. I especially love the Alison Glass one – I had to get a bundle of it myself after seeing so many lovely things made out of it.

  2. Julie says:

    hi, love both of these beauties 🙂 did you use a pattern for the Alison Glass quilt or even a template, I cant work it out and id love to try something like this x

Leave a Reply

