Schnitzel and Boo Mini Quilt Swap [ Round 3 ]

This Spring, I participated in my third round of the Schnitzel and Boo Mini Quilt Swap. I chose to help moderate the swap this time, as there were 900+ people signed up. It was insane! I love participating in this swap every year, and look forward to the next round.

Part of being a moderator means that not only do I make a mini quilt for my partner, I also keep an eye on 40-50 people involved in the swap. I become their “Swap Mama” and keep in touch with them every couple weeks. My job is to ensure everyone stays on track, and if not, I reassign as needed, as well as answering questions, clarifying addresses, etc. It’s a big job, really, and also quite time consuming. Let’s not discuss how many emails I had to go back and forth on. πŸ™‚

Anyways, time to show off the mini I made, and the mini I received. I was creating for Sara, and she’s such a sweetheart. I had a blast making this mini for her, and the design came to me, easily. I saw a much larger version of this pattern somewhere, probably Pinterest, and decided it would be perfect, so I got to work on sizing it down.

DSC_1750

I used these GORGEOUS Wild & Free fabrics by Maureen Cracknell. I got the chance to meet her in person at Quilt Market and she’s amazing. So real, honest, and down to earth. I could have chatted for hours with her. πŸ™‚

DSC_1751

The mini quilt top went together really quickly. I was able to piece it in one night, baste and start quilting the next night. That’s the best part of mini quilts- they are so fast compared to big quilts! After it was done, I sat down and bound it and then started collecting little goodies to go with it, because that’s my favorite part.

DSC_1880

DSC_1883

Here’s my completed mini quilt. It was really hard to send this one off, but I’m so glad she loved it.

Several weeks later, I received my mini quilt from overseas! I was blown away. It’s completely hand pieced and so stunningly gorgeous!

DSC_1960

DSC_1948I mean, seriously, look at the fussy cutting! The details! The COLORS! It’s my favorite mini quilt EVER. πŸ™‚ She even sent along some goodies for the girls, which was a shock. Not many people consider the family members of who they’re sending for and it was such a grand gesture.

DSC_1942

DSC_1941DSC_1939

 

Leave a Reply

